The Department of Law was established in 1985, as a result of the enactment of the Law Practitioners Act in 1984, following the recommendations of the Lallah's Committee on the Review of Legal Studies.

It has since won unanimous recognition within the judiciary and the legal professions in Mauritius, as well as in the region. We have thus regularly students from Rodrigues Island, the Seychelles and the Comoros islands.

Today, many of our graduates are members of the legal professions. A few of them, including myself, have also joined the Department of Law as academics. Some play key roles in the judicial and legal service of the State; others work as in-house lawyers in organizations, such as the Financial Services Commission, the State Bank of Mauritius and Air Mauritius. A number of law graduates have also proved themselves to be useful in other fields where knowledge of the law is an asset, such as Second Secretaries in the Diplomatic Service, and Managers.

Our department comprises eight full-time academics. Judges, magistrates law officers, and law practitioners are also involved in the teaching of the law programs.

The courses run by our department are the L.LB. (Hons), the BA (Hons) Law & Management, the Diploma in Legal Studies and the BSc Police Studies. We are also collaborating with the Department of Finance and Accounting for the running of the BSc (Hons) Finance with Law. The law department also services law modules on other undergraduate and postgraduate programs, such as Human Rights and Governance, Legal Aspects of Project Management, and Legal Aspects of Entrepreneurship.

The department, time and again, runs continuous legal education programs for various professional groups, such as managers, social security officers, prison officers, and bank executives.The law modules and programs we offer reflect the mixed legal system of our country, but are also geared to equip the students meet the new challenges facing Mauritius and the region.

In order to blend practice with theory, students are encouraged to go on work placement. They also have the opportunity to participate in moot competitions organized in the region. A Law Clinic is about to be set up with a view to helping students better develop practical legal skills.

There has been an exchange of academics between our department and law faculties from other universities, such as the University of Birmingham, the University of Exeter, the University of Kent at Canterbury, the University of Aix-Marseille, the University of RĂ©union and Delhi University.

We are currently establishing joint ventures with other law faculties with a view to offer other undergraduate and postgraduate law programs.



Department of Finance & Accounting

The department of Finance and Accounting is one of the most burgeoning department at the University and aims towards excellence

Department of Law

The Department of Law was established in 1985, as a result of the enactment of the Law Practitioners Act in 1984,

Department of Management

The Department of Management (DOM) is one of the main departments of the Faculty of Law and Management since its creation in 1992.